APPLYING THE SOCIAL ART OF ARCHITECTURE

Essay Competition Travel Fellowship Competition



Available photos and all of the names of the 131 distinguished recipients of the 126 BERKELEY PRIZE awards starting in the year 2000, counting both winners of dual awards and each individual in the various two-person teams. This worldwide array reflects the 2100+ undergraduates from 69 countries who have participated in all of the PRIZE competitions since 1999.

- 1. 2000 Nathan Koren, USA 2000 Andres Sebelski, USA 2000 Abbie Janette De Leon, USA
- 2000 Charles Fadem, USA 2. 2001 Christopher Holmes, Canada 2001 Ashley Paine, Australia 2001 Alex Oglivie, USA
- 2001 David Foxe, USA - 2001 John Sharpe, Australia 2001 Sara Stevens, USA 3. 2002 Thomas-Bernard Kenniff, Canada
- 2002 Ray Harli, South Africa 2002 Trevor Lewis, USA 2002 Nadia Watson, Australia 4. 2003 Philip Tidwell, USA
- 5. 2003 Karen Weise, USA 6. 2003 Ema Bonifacic, UK 7. 2003 Priyanka Shah, India 8. 2004 Angela Nyka, USA 9. 2004 Barak Levy, Israel 10. 2004 John Rea, USA
- 11. 2004 Dylan Sauer, USA 12, 2004 Sandra Thomson, Canada 13. 2004 Adriano Pupilli, Australia 14. 2005 Brian Knight, USA
- 15. 2005 Sarah Schaefer, Canada 16, 2005 Kamana Dhakhwa, Nepal
- 2005 Swasti Bhattarai, Nepal 17. 2005 Andri Haflidason, UK 18. 2005 Hadas Rix, Israel 19. 2006 Qurratulain Poonawala, Pakistan 20. 2006 Ashween Ramhotar, Australia
- 21. 2006 Carol Bellows, USA 22. 2006 Sebastian Rake, USA 23. 2006 Andrew Amara, Uganda* 24. 2006 Dustin Tobias, USA 25, 2007 Sara Navrady, Canada
- 25. 2007 Erica Moore, Canada 26. 2007 Matthew Clarke, USA 27. 2007 Talha Khwaja, USA 28. 2007 Budoor Bukhari, UAE*
- 29. 2007 Gabriela Sorda, Argentina 30. 2008 Sonya Redman, Australia 31. 2008 Nazneen Saifuddin, Kuwait 32. 2008 Petrina Yeap, Singapore 33. 2008 Ian Duncan Mactavish, USA
- 34. 2008 Nicole Graycar, USA 35. 2008 Laura Schlifer, USA 35. 2008 Daniel Carlson, USA 36. 2008 Anusha Narayanan, India
- 36. 2008 Avikal Somvanshi, India 37. 2009 Neelakshi Joshi, India* 38, 2009 Sharayah Jimenez, USA 39. 2009 Hajir Alttahir, UK
- 40. 2009 Tyler Rozicki, Canada* 41. 2009 Dominic Mathew, India* 42. 2010 Ishanie Niyogi, India 43, 2010 Tara Gaskin, Canada 44. 2010 Aimee Sunny, USA
- 2010 Mehrnoosh Khalooghi, Iran 2010 Fhsan Sakhinia, Iran 45. 2010 Jessica Clark, USA 46. 2010 Marina Sapunova, Russia 47. 2010 Michael Swords, Ireland*

48. 2010 Robert Ungar, Israel *Winner of two awards

2010 Yiğitcan Karanfil, Turkey

- 49. 2007 Holly Simon, Canada* 50. 2011 lina Valkeisenmäki, Finland
- 51, 2011 Rebecca David, Israel 52. 2011 Davis Owen, USA
- 53. 2011 Hriday Gami, India 54. 2011 Milenka Jirasko, USA
- 2011 Diana Mihai, Romania 55, 2011 Christina Monzer, USA
- 56. 2011 Joseph Audeh, USA - 2011 Preeti Talwai, USA 57. 2012 Loh Kin Kit, Singapore
- 57. 2012 Phoaw Yen Shan, Singapore - 2012 Bryans Mukasa, Uganda - 2012 Gauri Mathur, India
- 58. 2012 Emma Survis, USA - 2012 Victor A. O. Abarca, Mexico 59. 2012 Saumitra Sinha, India
- 60, 2013 Sophia Bannert, UK 61. 2013 Faiq Mari, Palestine
- 62. 2013 Slavka Gancheva, Bulgaria 63. 2013 Caitlin Copeland, UK
- 64. 2013 Malvika Mehta, India 65. 2013 Mandy Oeni, Singapore
- 66. 2013 Hanan Qureshi, India 67. 2013 Disha Sahu, India - 2013 Ben Wokorach, Uganda
- 68. 2014 Tazrin Islam, Bangladesh 69. 2014 Nipun Prabhakar, India
- 69. 2014 Sukruti Gupta, India 70. 2014 Michael Philpott, Canada
- 71. 2014 Aparna Ramesh, India 72. 2014 Clarence Lee Jun Yi, New Zealand
- 73. 2014 Sheila Malingu, Uganda 74. 2014 Delma Palma, USA
- 2014 Revathi Veriah, India 75. 2015 Tarun Bhasin, India* 75. 2015 Vineetha Nalla, India
- 76, 2011 Benard Acellam, Uganda* 77. 2015 Meghna Mohandas, India 78. 2015 Chandana Rajanna, India
- 78. 2015 Hanan Qureshi, India 79. 2015 Eman Zied, Egypt 80. 2015 Jennisse Schule, USA
- 81. 2015 Andreea Movila, Romania 82. 2016 VishnuPriya Viswanathan, India
- 83. 2016 Zahra Mosaddegh Akrami, Iran 83. 2016 Ali Tabatabaei, Iran
- 84, 2016 Avushman Kedia, India 85. 2016 Julian Daly, USA
- 85. 2016 Rebecca Sherouse, USA 86. 2016 Nadia Asali, India
- 87. 2016 Atianna Cordova, USA 88. 2016 Vaibhay Saxena, India
- 89. 2016 Meghana Hegde, India 90. 2017 Jan Doroteo, Canada
- 91. 2017 Hadi Osni, Singapore 92. 2017 Bella Biwer, USA
- 93, 2017 Layton Checketts, USA 94. 2017 Sakshi Khare, India
- 94. 2017 Vidhi Wadhawan, India
- 95. 2017 Muhammad Satya Irfanando, Indonesia 95 2017 Lia Sparingga Purnamasari Indonesia
- 96, 2017 Ali Abidi, Tunisia 97. 2017 Richard Migisha, Uganda

ш

98. 2017 Aarushi Sharma, India

ARCHITECTURE IS A SOCIAL ART

The BERKELEY PRIZE supports the study and teaching of the social art of architecture. The online, two-stage Essay Competition (in English) is open to undergraduate architecture majors in accredited schools of architecture throughout the world. The Travel Fellowship Competition is open to the Essay Competition semifinalists.

PURSE

Essay Competition: 25,000 USD; 7,500 USD first prize; Multiple prizes

Travel Fellowship Competition: **Stipend and airfare; Multiple prizes**

2018 JURORS



Benard Acellam, Uganda: Architect; Architecture faculty, International University of East Africa in Kampala. Now working with Technology Consults Limited on the design and documentation of the Bibia-Elegu Cross-Border Market in Uganda. Among other awards, UN-Habitat social media and blogging award on the theme of eco mobility. Benard won both the Second Place Prize in the 2015 Essay Prize Competition, and a Travel Fellowship in 2011. He is a member of the BERKELEY PRIZE Committee.



Neelakshi Joshi, India: Architect and urban planner. Previously worked at the Auroville Earth Institute, UNESCO chair for earth construction specializing in low cost and sustainable earth-based construction. Subsequent residential project in Ladakh, reviving the local rammed earth techniques and passive solar design, was awarded the Terra Award 2016. She is currently a doctoral candidate at the Dresden Leibniz Graduate School, Germany. Neelakshi won both a First Place Prize in the 2009 Essay Prize competition, and an Architectural Design Fellowship in the same year.



Thomas-Bernard Kenniff Ph.D., Canada: Architect; Professor in the Environmental Design program at the École de design, Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM). He has previously worked in Toronto, Barcelona, and Madrid. Since 2004, Dr. Kenniff's research has addressed the public realm, particularly the making of social space. Currently working on a three-year design-research project on the construction of Montréal's public realm over the last 20 years. Thomas-Bernard received the First Place Prize in the 2002 Essay Prize competition. He is a member of the BERKELEY PRIZE Committee.



Preeti Talwai, United States: Currently working as a User Experience Researcher at X (formerly Google[x]), the innovation lab of Google where she studies human needs, attitudes, motivations, and behaviors across different domains and ecosystems. At X, she is the only researcher with an architectural background. She says of her work: "To me the most exciting thing about the social art of architecture is its universal significance to almost any discipline." Preeti won a BERKELEY PRIZE Architectural Design Fellowship in 2011. She is a member of the BERKELEY PRIZE Committee.

SCHEDULE

Competition opens: **September 15, 2017**; Stage One entries due: **November 1, 2017**.

For more information go to www.berkeleyprize.org